May 24, 2018

The St. Louis High School Musical Theatre Awards (SLHSMTA) are back for their 2nd Annual celebration of high school musical theatre. The ceremony will include exciting performances by talented young artists from local area high schools.

There were 32 area schools competing in this year’s competition. The 2018 participating schools are: Affton High School, Belleville East High School, Christian Brothers College High School, Chaminade College Prep School, Clayton High School, Cor Jesu Academy, Edwardsville High School, Festus High School, Francis Howell Central High School, Ft. Zumwalt North High School, Hillsboro High School, Incarnate Word Academy, Jersey Community High School, Kirkwood High School, Lindbergh High School, McCluer High School, Mehlville High School, MICDS, Normandy High School, Northwest High School, O’Fallon Township High School, Parkway North High School, Rockwood Summit High School, Rosati-Kain High School, St. Dominic High School, St. John Vianney High School, Take 3 Christian Theatre, Timberland High School, Villa Duchesne, Visitation Academy, Westminster Christian Academy, and Whitfield School.

Winners will be announced in 14 categories including, Outstanding Ensemble, Outstanding Production, Outstanding Scenic Design and Execution, Outstanding Direction and more.  The year-long judging process culminates in an awards ceremony modeled after the Tony Awards. Students from every participating school will be represented in a professionally choregraphed opening number. Nominees in the Outstanding Actor and Outstanding Actress categories will perform in medleys with other nominees and schools. Nominees for Outstanding Musical will perform a production number from their show.

The nominees for Outstanding Actress are:

Maggie Kuntz as “Dolly Levi” in Hello, Dolly! | Cor Jesu Academy

Maggie Kuntz - Cor Jesu Academy.jpg

Paige Terch as “Mary Poppins” in Mary Poppins | Edwardsville High School

Paige Terch - Edwardsville High School.jpg

Sydney Jones as “Janet” from The Drowsy Chaperone | Kirkwood High School

Sydney Jones - Kirkwood High School.jpeg

Meg Gorton as “Lady of the Lake” in Monty Python’s Spamalot | Timberland High School

Meg Gorton - Timberland High School.PNG

Caroline Santiago Turner as “Rose” from Bye Bye Birdie | Visitation Academy

Caroline Santiago Turner - Visitation Academy.jpg

Jessica Wilson as “Dorothy” from The Wiz | Westminster Christian Academy

Jessica Wilson - Westminster Christian Academy.JPG

The nominees for Outstanding Actor are:

 Luke Goeckner as “Bert” in Marry Poppins | Edwardsville High School

Luke Goeckner - Edwardsville High School.jpg 

Chance Trisler as “Tevye” from Fiddler on the Roof | Jerseyville High School

(Trisler) (Chance) Headshot.jpg

Jared Goudsmit as “Man in Chair” in The Drowsy Chaperone | Kirkwood High School

Jared Goudsmit - Kirkwood High School.jpg

Tony Merritt as “Don Quixote” in Man of La Mancha | McCluer High School

Tony Merritt - McCluer High School.JPG

Peyton Bishop as “Curly” in OKLAHOMA | St. Dominic High School

Bishop Peyton Headshot.jpg

Liam Dean as ‘Seymour” in Little Shop of Horrors | Whitfield School

Liam Dean - Whitfield School.jpg

 The winners of the Outstanding Actress and Outstanding Actor Award will advance to compete in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards in New York City. They will participate in an intensive weeklong theatre coaching and rehearsals with industry professionals in preparation for a one-night-only showcase on Broadway.

The ceremony takes place Sunday, June 10, at 4:00 p.m. at the Fabulous Fox Theatre. This event will be a true celebration of high school musical theatre that you won’t want to miss!